Feedback Requested for Penny's Portraits

Yep...and toss in a "wow, you're a natural at this" from time to time to loosen them up. The way to get them to be very tight and self conscious is to say "relax more" lol

Yep...and toss in a "wow, you're a natural at this" from time to time to loosen them up. The way to get them to be very tight and self conscious is to say "relax more" lol
Yep, compliments and humour. Above all, you have to appear relaxed... even if you're not.

I photographed this beautiful little girl a few weeks ago. She does a lot of modeling, including some for the local photography school students. Her mom was thrilled with my work (which means a lot, given her experience with photographers), but I want the critiques of the pros.
1. I'm not a pro.

2. Of course the mother will like them, but she is not an art critic, and the subject is her own daughter.

3. My critique:
#1; Odd setting, odd pose, odd frame.
#2; Frame is way too tight.
#3; If you're selling the clothing, then make sure the clothing is arranged correctly. There is an issue with her skirt that should have been fixed before the shot. (note: The models cannot see their backside without a multiple-pane full-length mirror, so you will have to call attention to it. If you are an adult male, you never touch a female model's clothing, hair, or skin without obtaining permission, and in the case of a child, you never touch her anyway. I presume her mother was present, so ask mom to fix her dress. Oh, and don't crop her legs either, especially since you're selling the clothing.
#4; Better pose, but you've cropped her legs again. Need the whole outfit to be in the frame.
#5; Frame is still too tight, especially for selling clothing. You've cropped right into the cape, and the dress is not even included.