File Formats...

BuS_RiDeR

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
mdlphotography.blogspot.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a computer technician... I know a lot about computer hardware and networking... But I fall short when it comes to some types of software.

Now, I understand that RAW is one of the most favored ways to shoot/store images.

I currently shoot in RAW and save the edits as JPEG...

However, I was curious; what is the preferred file type to use?

Obviously, JPEG is popular... But I've heard several comments about PNG or TIFF as well. Is there another file format that is better?

I like to shoot in RAW and save in 16-bit TIF. There's no such thing as a 16-bit JPG. The 16-bit color space is much better for editing purposes. Also you can save a TIF without compressing the image.

psd for saving layered files and non destructive editing and tiffs from converted psd's, jpeg only for printing is my preferred workflow. H

Here's my structure:

<dir> contains all raw files
<dir/_jpeg> (if needed) contains all the raws converted to small jpegs to create a gallery for the client to pick the images from
<dir/_final> contains all psds and jpeg exports of the edited images

And depending on the needs of the client, the jpegs can also be tiffs :)

i also shoot in raw, then save as a jpeg.

I shoot in jpg unless it's a sunset or floral shot that may end up as a 'fine art' (large) print
a difficult shot or large print shot are done in raw/jpg.
My day to day is construction documentary - large jpg are sufficient but an occasional raw worked n saved as tiff for special purpose (LARGE) print is needed.
Up to your style and needs. Each has pro & con.
Better to shoot big (raw) if you have time n memory, you can always downsize, but lil jpg's can't make a sofa size print

Excluding my sports action images, I capture images as RAW data files (T&I sports shots included). RAW edits are saved in embedded .XMP files.