Film choice

The Lost Art

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
mojophotos.tumblr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm sure there must be a thread on here about this already but it's tricky to search for!

I'm looking for film recommendations. Colour and monochrome.
So far I've got some not so great results from Fuji Neopan 1600 and some really nice shots on Ilford Hp5 400. Are there better fast films you could recommend? Or anything I might prefer to the Ilford?

I buy most of mine from 7dayshop.com - Online shopping made easy ! which has a limited choice but good prices. What's the difference between Fuji Superia and Kodak Gold?

Thanks!

That's a good question, I guess I'm really asking for other people's preferences and their reasoning. I'm not very good at describing what I like about different films, but I've not been happy with my last two rolls of Neopan 1600. I can't seem to get a wide enough range of mid-tones or something. A lot of the photos have deep black and bright whites but the mid tones often don't look quite right and the grain becomes distracting.

I'm about to buy a few rolls of colour film but I'm not sure which to go for. I usually have a search through Flickr before I decide on something like this but it's sometimes difficult to know what's been done in post.

For color, Fuji Pro 160S was always my favorite - but it's hard to find right now. I heard that it was discontinued, but Fuji's website still lists it as current production... Either way, nobody has it in stock.

Kodak Portra 160NC would be my second choice.

The Portra 160VC was just too much saturation for me...
All of the Fuji Pro films are good too. They're all getting hard to find though. I read that 400H will be the only one still being made soon...

A lot of people like Kodak Ektar 100 too. I don't like it for shooting people (unnatural skin tones), but for other stuff it's fine.

I was thinking of getting something at 400 ISO, but I might try the Potra 160NC.