Film for pinhole camera

Stillwater

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So after seeing the pinhole pictures posted by fstop23 earlier today, I'm hooked. I've been researching them all day, and am planning to make one tonight after I get off work. But I have a question about the films i could use in a pinhole camera, or what I could possibly use.. I shoot 35mm film, but I'm a poor college student and its getting expensive. I don't have the equipment to develop film myself, so what kind of film could I use that wouldn't require developing (if possible) or very little to none. Could I throw a polaroid in there? If so, how would I keep it from exposing when I removed it later?

I don't have the equipment to develop film myself, so what kind of film could I use that wouldn't require developing (if possible) or very little to none. Could I throw a polaroid in there? If so, how would I keep it from exposing when I removed it later?

In general, you'd want to load and unload pinhole cameras in a dark room, preferably a darkroom. Failing that, a changing bag. Failing that, I dunno. I've been known to use a buttoned-up coat, with my arms in the sleeves, and the neck and bottom folded up. I do this in a dark closet.

As for film, there's no reason you shouldn't be able to use Polaroid. Personally, I prefer paper negatives.... easily an order of magnitude cheaper than film, and it develops in Dektol, substantially cheaper than most film developers (especially when you dilute 1+5 or 1+10 for the paper negatives, like I do). I develop my 4X5 paper negatives in trays which are cut-out bottoms of plastic milk jugs. And a bathroom works just fine... a little light leaking around the bottom of a door has never hurt my work, and actually helps me see what I'm doing when I don't have a safelight installed.