Film preference?

tevo

Recovering TPF Junkie
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
35mm, any preference on brand? there are several on B&H, i don't know quality of brands as i am new to film photography.

will be shooting a Nikon FM (chrome body) w/ a f/1.8 50mm.

EDIT: looking for B&W negative film, dont know much about the speed, so whatever produces the highest quality image (considering it is shot appropriately). any information is welcomed! thanks in advance

Last edited:
Are you asking about:

Positive or Negative
B&W or Colour

Each film has it's own characteristics ... these tend to be personal choices.

Are you asking about:

Positive or Negative
B&W or Colour

Each film has it's own characteristics ... these tend to be personal choices.

Roll Film this was my search query, tell me if I am looking at the wrong items

35mm film in which to take pictures with on my Nikon FM, black and white

what do you mean when you say Positive or Negative? I know what each one is, but I don't understand the question

There are 4 basic types of 35mm film:

1.- color print (aka color negative)
when developed it produces a negative image (reversed tones and colors) which was originally
designed for printing to a positive print in a darkroom but can also be scanned with a computer
scanner and printed via computer printer. This is the most common type of film and can be
processed most anywhere that processes film. It is also the easiest to shoot as it is forgiving
of exposure errors (up to a point)

2. - color slide (aka color positive aka color reversal)
when developed it produces a positive image (correct tones and colors) which can be directly viewed, projected or printed
either in a darkroom or via computer scan/print. Uses a different chemical process from #1 above. These days not all
film processing businesses can process it.

3. - traditional black & white