Film Problem!

TypedBiscuit

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello, there! My name is TypedBiscuit and i'm pretty new to film photography and new to this forum (1st post in fact). Ive taken a few rolls with my dads old Olympus OM1, and I recently purchased a Minolta Himatic 9. Its in super nice condition and everything appears to be in good working order. I took my first roll of film from the Minolta to get developed today and naturally I was super excited. Well 10 minutes after I dropped it off they called me and told me something along the lines of "the whole roll of film had been exposed". Is there something wrong with the camera? Or is it the film? If anyone can shed some light on this, I would greatly appreciate it and will promptly grant you +1000 internets.

we w ould need more information; ie. scan a piece of the negative so we can view, or they should be able to shed some light on this (no pun intended)

perhaps the shutter is sticking . open the camera back and fire off the shutter at various speeds and see what happens. Just hold the camera up to a strong light source so you can see the aperture open and close.

Did you leave that roll of film in the heat? In a hot car, in the sun?
Maybe there was a light leak, check the back of your camera.

P.S.: lol to that unintentional pun: "shed some light" on this. :lol:

we w ould need more information; ie. scan a piece of the negative so we can view, or they should be able to shed some light on this (no pun intended)

perhaps the shutter is sticking . open the camera back and fire off the shutter at various speeds and see what happens. Just hold the camera up to a strong light source so you can see the aperture open and close.

:lol: oh jeez! I saw the "shed some light" on the OP's post, aww. I thought I was the only clever one to see it was a pun.:grumpy::lol:

I dont have a scanner, or the negative (at CVS still...). I followed your suggestion and it appears that the shutter is in 100% working order.