Film Suggestions?

Meeskephoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey, I am fairly new to film photography and only ever used basic Arista premium 400ISO B/W that was required for a class. I'm looking to get into it a little more and get creative with different film types. Can anyone suggest or educate on some quality 35mm films I could mess about with? Like I've heard of chrome film, and other nifty things, I just don't know what to pursue. All suggestions are helpful!

The Arista premium I believe is basically rebranded Kodak Tri-X, which is always a good film to use. Ilford also makes different black and white film emulsions. Their HP5+ is very similar to Tri-X, perhaps a little less contrasty. If you want something with finer grain, try the Kodak Tmax films or the Ilford Delta series of films.

For color, you've got Kodak or Fuji essentially. I think there's still Agfa around, too. The "chrome" films are slide films - meaning the image you get on the film is a positive image, not a negative image. The colors can be very intense and the grain and detail very fine, though they are much less tolerant of exposure errors than negative films are. And they need different developers, so before you get into that, make sure you know how to get the slide film developed since it's not as common as the standard C-41 color negative development chemicals/process. Of course, if you want to play a little, you could always cross-process (use a developer that was not intended for that film) but I think you'd have to do that yourself. Not all labs will cross-process. I don't have experience with slide film (yet) but I'm sure others will chime in.