Filters are so confusing!

keller

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I've never used filters before (except for a UV to protect my lens). Having read Ken Rockwell's article on filters, I'm even more confused! Reading books and even this forum's posts on filters confuses me even more.

I think I'm stuck at the basic level - I understand that filters are supposed to enhance a photo, and I sort of know the effects of polarizers, colour filters, etc.

But I don't understand which filter to buy (there seems to be a million different combinations!). I mostly shoot landscape and cityscape shots, both day and night.

I know I should get a graduated ND filter to prevent overexposure of the sky, but what else should I get? I thought about polarizers, but Ken Rockwell's article says they're bad for Fuji Velvia films. I also figured some colour filters would be useful, but all those numbers (81-D and stuff) are pretty confusing.

The numbers are just a way to identify the same filters through different brands.

Filters are used to cure problems with exposure and colour. Start with a set of ND filters (1, 2 & 4) and colour graduated filters like a blue grad for skies.

Get filters for your biggest lens & buy stepping rings to make them fit your smaller lenses. Alternatively get a filter holder with the adapter rings to fit your lenses.

If you shoot digital, there are only two filters you will ever need. Polarizer and a ND Grad. Maybe a ND if you shoot a lot of waterfall shots during mid day and if you want to shoot intrared shots a IR but othe then that, everything else can be done in photoshop.

Scott

Polarizers rock. Grab a nice one.

It's also a good idea to keep a clear UV filter on your lens whenever you're not using another filter. The main purpose is just to protect it. It's a lot better to get a nasty scratch on a $30 filter than on a $500 lens.

keller said:
there seems to be a million different combinations!