Filters..........................

Tyson

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.tls-photo.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am in need of filters, I want to shot out doors. I have a Evolt E-500( I have had it for 48 hours my first DSLRor SLR ever), I went to Cord camera and look at a polarizer dual coat? for $70. I don't want to waste any money on stuff I don't need. I am going to be traveling around takeing pictures of Covered bridges, light houses, lakes, water falls, rivers and maybe a few indoor/outdoor protraits. Most of the time I will be shooting at fire scenes and auto accidents day and night. I am a volunteer firefighter ans often times carry my camera with me ( I have a Optio S40 that stays in within arms reach when I am at a fire scene). Please Please Please give me a No BS list of filters I should have on hand. I like the look of the fussy water falls and waves, please advise.

If you shoot waterfalls I'd get a set of Neutral Density filters. I'm not sure what "fussy" means but if you are talking about the smooth flowing look, ND filters allow you to shoot much slower shutter speeds to achieve that look.

Other then that, there aren't any MUST HAVE filters. Many would say a polarizing filter is a must though.

Should I pay $70 for a polarizing filter?
Do you know of any online sorce of less $$$ filters?
I was just trying to take a picture of a can of spray on top of a table and my camera wanted to focus on the long strech behind it instead of the can why? I put it on spot focus?