Fingerprints, scratches, smudges... Okay? Or Intolerable?

aandr34

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have been working on an ongoing series for several years that now involves scanning disposable camera prints. It is an extensive series of at least fifty packets of disposables and I do not have the negatives for a lot of them, so I have been scanning the 5x7 prints with my scanner. I wanted an opinion on leaving fingerprints, smudges, and scratches in the final product. Do you think it ADDS to the aesthetic or distracts from the image? Is it perhaps considered cliche or lazy to leave them in? I am torn on this issue and would like some advice on what to do with my hundreds of scanned prints! Thanks!

You can't do much about scratches and it would be an endless task to try to remove them in PP software. Whether or not it adds to the aesthetic depends on how scratched the image is, where the scratches are, if they complement the image or not... in other words, difficult to define, dependent on the individual photo, and nearly impossible to proclaim without seeing the image.

Not sure what you mean by smudges, but I would absolutely wipe the photos to remove fingerprints. I can't see how they could ever add to an image. Well, not anything positive anyway ;) I would also dust the glass of the scanner (using a dust-free microfiber cloth) and the print very carefully before each scan. Dust residue is also not attractive. I know it makes a big job even bigger, but it's the nature of the beast, I suppose.

If "something" on a photo print can be wiped off with a huff of breath and a wipe or two with a clean microfiber cloth or chamois, I say, "remove the offending bits"...if there are scratches or stains on the prints, well, scan them and deal with those issues later. I also agree with dusting the scanner's glass to keep as much junk off of the scans as possible. It's best to just get the images scanned, then deal with problems.