First 300mm lens. Is this a fair price or did I get swindled?

WhiteRaven22

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm fairly new to film photography (on-and-off for the last year or so) and due to the need for more range, I finally purchased my first 300mm lens for my Nikon FM2(N). I think it was good deal if it arrives in good shape, but I still want a second opinion about the price as it is the first lens I've bought for over $100. The other lenses I own are a 28mm f/3.5, a 50mm f/2, and a 70-210mm f/4. Any recommendation for future additions to my lens collection are also welcome. :D

Nikon Nikkor 300mm F4 5 AIS Lens | eBay

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
I looked up the completed listings and would say it's an ok price depending on condition, maybe a tad high.

When I had my FM2N one of my favorites was the Tokina RMC 17mm f/3.5, you can find them used for around $150. My go-to lens was the Nikkor 85mm f1.4 AI-S but that is probably more than you want to spend.

Have you seen this?
Lens Evaluations

Actually I threw that question by the seller before I bought it and he is including the tripod mount (as well as the front and rear lens caps) shown in several of the product photos.

Seems reasonable....not a "screaming deal" by any means, but within normal range I'd guess. I used to own one of those lenses. On a good manual focus film Nikon like an FM2-n, it will focus pretty well; the viewfinder magnification and the viewfinder screen in the FM2-n worked pretty well with my 300/4 Ai, which I had back in the 1980's. For a reasonable price comparison, eBay compl;eted sales and KEH.com are sources many people use to check out the dimensions of ye olde ballpark.

For future additions there is one MUST-HAVE: the 105mm f/2.5 Ai-S Nikkor. A dream lens on the FM-series.