first attempt at engagment photos C&C please!

y75stingray

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone this was my first attempt at engagement photos and would love some feedback. I'm still pretty new at this so please keep that in mind.

E-14.jpg

E-12.jpg

E-11.jpg

E-9.jpg

E-3.jpg

E-2.jpg

E-4.jpg

The three main things that come to mind looking at these images are: Exposure, exposure, exposure.

1. Something in the order of 1/2 - 2/3 stop under-exposed and very mid-tone rich. I would consider a bit of a contrast increase to try and achieve some black and white vice shades of grey.

2. Cute pose, but consider the difference in brightness between the right side of his face and hers. A fill-flash image right (ideally a single strobe fired into an umbrella) would have really improved things here.

3. Very nice. I like this, but would suggest a tighter crop to put more focus on the couple and eliminate the blown sky. Again, fill light image right would have helped even the exposure.

4. Nice; could be a little brighter and would benefit from a slight contrast increase.

5. Fine; perhaps a slight levels adjustment to make the bottom third of the wall just a little brighter.

6. As per #5 and perhaps a crop to remove some of the empty space at the top?

7. Exposure comments as per #1; also try and avoid cropping the body in tis way. It would have been much better, IMO, if his whole left side was included.

Just my $00.02 worth - your mileage may vary.

~John