imagesliveon

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.imagesliveon.co.uk
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

I finally completed my studio this week and took some test shots. I'm totally new to studio flash so my initial results were a bit hit and miss!

I have used a pait of Elinchrom heads. I used one of the Lastolite Hilite background putting one head inside the background and the other head supporting a small softbox.

For a first go I must say I'am pleased with my results...

Is there any points or tips you guys could give?

Mu subjects are my wonderful boys Hamish and Oliver

I would love some feedback on these please?

Hamish and Oliver by Simon Clarkson Photography, on Flickr

Cheeky Oliver 2013 by Simon Clarkson Photography, on Flickr

Hamish and Oliver by Simon Clarkson Photography, on Flickr

Kind Regards

I think #1 is my favorite. Very clear!

Not bad at all for a first set, but I'm going to guess you've made a mistake fairly common to all those new to studio work, which is having your lights & modifiers too far from the subjects. I use the size of the modifier as a rough guideline to distance; for instance when I'm shooting with my portable right using a 30" Ezybox, the light is not more than 30" from the subject. The shadows in #1 are just a bit harsh which indicates lights farther away than necessary - the closer the softer.

As well, I would suggest changing the placement slightly. Move your key further left, so that it is say, 20-30 degrees camera right, and have your fill one stop below key 90 degrees camera left. The same applies for #2; note the way the right (camera left) side of his face is almost blown, but the opposite is in dark shadow? Shadow is good; we almost always want shadow, but perhaps not quite this much.