First attempt - knife photo

Olympus8MP

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
thecodesource.solarbotics.net
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This is my first attempt at a product photograph. This isn't actually for Gerber Gear, just a pic of my favorite knife :D See if anyone can guess the equipment I used.

knife.JPG

What can I do to improve this?

Thanks

please forgive me for being too honest if i am......i hope you are looking for this kind of comment to help you improve

if you are not using a light tent...you should definitely give it a try...will give you better spread of the light....your current photo is more of a snapshot then a product shot

here is a previous post that did a good job on knife....you can have a look at the setup

http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=69238

It looks like you used on-camera flash. To make it better you could use off-camera flash or a tripod and no flash at all. Or, you could retouch it a little in photoshop as I have done.

gerberknife.jpg

Fmw, what did you do in photoshop for that knife? Your retouched version looks great.

Thanks. I wanted to do 4 things.

1. Get rid of the color cast which is actually an overload of the CCD from the direct flast. Film wouldn't have reacted that way. The blown out area would have been neutral.

2. Bring out the detail in the handle.

3. Tone down the blown out area where the flash unit is reflected straight back at the lens.

4. Get rid of the background which was unevenly lit.