First Camera. Nikon D3300 or D5500? Or?

Nucky

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guy/gals,

I've been saving and selling a few odds and ends for what I consider a decent camera. I know there are many Nikon fans and non fans but based on my limited knowledge and Google searches Ive chosen to go with Nikon.

The question I have is...... Should I go with :
A Nikon D3300 bundle from eBay (Tripod/bad/flash/etc) or spend a little more and go with a D5500?

For context:
- I like the idea of the swivel and touch screen but I have no serious experience in photography.
- Im looking to stay in this price bracket.
- I'm not opposed to buying used but I don't have the experience to make an educated purchase.
- Since the features on the D5500 are new should I wait and upgrade in the next generation or two?
- Are both wrong for a newbie looking to get into amateur photography?

Thanks for any advice or suggestions in advance.
-Jeremy

All you need is a lens and a shutter button. Either will work fine. You just have to decide on which bells and whistles you'd like.

Err ... there AFAIK really is absolutely no point in getting a D3300. Its very clearly the worst offer of Nikon in the whole lineup of entry level cameras. Its just hopelessy overpriced for what it actually does.

Because the D5200 is CHEAPER than the D3300, but BETTER. Before you consider the D3300, get the cheaper camera with the superior autofocus and 14 bit recording (the D3x00 line only records 12 bit, and only the D7x00 line finally records 14 bit lossless).

The D5500 is a camera I instantly fell in love with when I picked it up in the shop. It just "falls" into your hand so beautifully, and then theres the touchscreen. I really had to make a strong effort not to buy one, haha. But purely from what it can do photographically, its not much better than the D5200.