First dark background photos - C&C please

Munk_KN

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm pretty new to photography, bought my camera (Nikon D3100) a few months ago and today I thought I'd have a go at close-ups with a black background. I don't have any lighting stuff yet, so I tried to make do with a flashlight + bubble wrap basically. For background I used a duvet cover and both were shot with the 18-55 VR kit lens. I struggled a bit with composition (#2 especially), mostly because my setup didn't really allow me to freely choose angle and distance. #1 was way underexposed, which I've tried to compensate for in Lightroom. Let me know what you think!

Edit: Oh btw, they're both studio microphones.

ISO 400, 55mm, f/5.6, 1/50 sec

Sennheiser 1 by Munk_KN, on Flickr

ISO 200, 35mm, f/5.6, 1/25 sec

Guld mikro by Munk_KN, on Flickr

#1 is pointless. what's the subject?
#2 I like this one. The mic looks underexposed but I like it

I imagine that these are being shot for some purpose ratehr than a general artistic reason; it is pretty hard to start from scratch with product shots because they require different skills than just plain old photos.

Sort of strange that these are underexposed; if you are using the camera to judge exposure, then these would typically be over-exposed as the camera tries to make everything, including the black background, medium grey.
That being said, use the spot metering option and meter off the mike itself.

Lew

#1 is pointless. what's the subject?
#2 I like this one. The mic looks underexposed but I like it

#1 is also a mic - just a much smaller one.

I imagine that these are being shot for some purpose ratehr than a general artistic reason; it is pretty hard to start from scratch with product shots because they require different skills than just plain old photos.