First DSLR T1i or Rebel XS

vk1115

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi people I am a beginner in photography looking to buy my first DSLR. I am bit confused with making a choice between the Rebel XS and T1i. I have looked at various reviews on the internet. Some say its worth buying the T1i whereas some say its worth getting the Rebel XS as a beginner. I was hoping to get some input from you all.

I'd go with the T1i if price is not an issue. It's newer than the XS and has video (depending on if you want it or not). It's a pretty decent little camera.

I agree. Xs is the most basic Canon dSLR. T1i is being substituted by T2i so that you might find good prices on it.

Yes, definately go with the T1i if you can afford it, it has a bigger screen, video ( not that I care about that, but you may ) higher resolution, and it also has spot metering. It has pretty ISO noise as well.

i was in the same predicament as well but i opted with the xsi instead. its pretty much in between the 2. compared to the xs the major difference is bigger screen and higher resolution. i'm not making poster sized pictures nor am i taking video, so the t1i was out of the question. the xsi is a great beginner camera, so this could be another option.

The XS is a good camera. I have it, but I am starting to feel the itch to upgrade after only 5 months of having it. I'd say go with the T1i if you have the $.

I'd definitely say T1i. Great camera, a lot more capabilities.

Another vote for the T1i, the xs is starting to get dated

I've been shooting for just less than a year and still use the xs. I still like it, and can't yet justify pulling the trigger on an upgrade. I saw it listed at a local Roberts Photo for $399 on a one day sale, and was very tempted to grab another, but didn't.