First DSLR?

JRPDoyle

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all I am looking to buy my first DSLR.
I was looking at either the D3200 or the D5200.
Any suggestion on which would be best? I will be using it mainly to take pictures of my family at first (kids ages 1 - 5) and using that to learn about how to use them. I have never used a DSLR before but have seen the quality of pictures from them.
Also any suggestion on lenses for this would be brilliant.

Any suggestion on which would be best? I will be using it mainly to take pictures of my family at first (kids ages 1 - 5) and using that to learn about how to use them. I have never used a DSLR before but have seen the quality of pictures from them.

Well either will suit your needs fine really, I think the question to ask yourself is the camera something you'll only be using occasionally for say family photos and vacations or is photography a hobby your really looking to get into at least somewhat seriously? If it's the former I'd go with the 3200, if it's the latter I'd recommend the 5200. The 5200 will stlll be very easy to use when your first getting started, but it will give you some more advanced features that you can make use of after you start learning your way around the camera. So if you plan on getting even semi-serious about your photography then I'd go with the 5200 myself.

In point of fact I own a 5200, and I love it.

The main selling point between the D3200 and D5200 (in my opinion) is the articulating screen on the D5200. The sensors are pretty similar... the D5200 just takes a slight edge as far as I know (and I think the above-linked comparisons confirm that, though I could be mistaken). It offers just a little bit here and there over the D3200, which to me was worth it (so I bought the D5200).