First HDR Car

Ernicus

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
went to local diner where they have old cars each Wednesday and took some shots. Trying out HDR. Second time using photomatix so I'm a total newb at the software. Used AEB five clicks up n down with my 7D and 28-135 lens.

Lemme know what ya HDR'ers think and where to go from here.

I like to go for the natural look, not overcooked look. I also like vibrant colors. I did not get as much detail out of the shadows as I was hoping for, as seen with tires disappearing.

I took many shots, so this is the first of a few I'll process tonight.

7981154837_7af3d67c2b_o.jpg

"I did not get as much detail out of the shadows as I was hoping for, as seen with tires disappearing."

Exactly what I was thinking when I saw the picture. However this is pretty good IMO. The angle you chose is good, but since that blue car on the left is there, it is a little distracting. Plus there seems to be a blue tint coming off the chrome, I dont know if that is from that blue car or something else. IMO chrome should look really super clean and detailed in an HDR.

I will keep an eye out for your others from this day, as I feel you can never have enough car shots! :wink:

:)

Yeah, many of the cars were so damn close together, the only time I could get a shot without the other stuff is when I was shooting pieces and parts. I guess that's what ya get at local gatherings. Amazing how many times I had to sit there, framed up, finger on trigger, waiting for some fvcktard to get out of my damn shot...and they saw me there before they walked up to gawk. Turds.

Pretty sure the blue is from the other car, there was a purple car down next...could even be some of that in there as well.

Thanks for the comments. :)

The blue hue could be coming from the skylight, and this might be the way the HDR process "sees" the reflection on the chrome and car, I'm not sure.