First Portrait, and lighting set up!

AJ153

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
picture taken off flicker, [needs to be revised/edit] thank you for your inputs

This is my first attempt into Self-Portrait, Shot with a 60D, and a 50mm 1.4 of myself with timer. I first used a mini statue of Jesus to focus in, and then set it to manual to lock the focus. I used a self timer of ten seconds to take the shot. It was around 2:55 P.M in northern Illinois so the light coming out of the window was a indirect soft light which made a fantastic rim light.

This also my first attempt with lighting

haha I just learned the lighting terms (or technical names) so I made a picture to save explaining time, I just kinda did what I thought looked nice on the screen :lol:
YnhEgOd.png

After taking the picture, and importing at first I was worried that the sparkle in the eye (I guess its called the Catchlight) should have been on the right side (left side of my face), but after doing research, I learned that in my picture; that light on the right side (left side of my face) is actually the rim light caused by lighting #4, and lighting #3 I placed overhead because I thought my hair was not highlighted enough ( I guess that was the hair light). I placed lighting #2 there because there was a really harsh shadow that needed to go ( I guess that was the fill light) and finally I placed lighting #1 there because I saw a picture of a lighting studio which had a lighting lamp in that position on eye level. It also took the shadow away from the rim/hair light, and gave the face that balanced natural light on the face (which is I learned is key light?). In the research I found out that Catchlight is in terms in the correct spot of 10-11ish'Oclock in corresponds to the key light (light #1) of my picture.

Is this correct?

Well basically in short is the catch-light in the correct spot? is the lighting, and position correct?

Last edited: