First prime lens - EF 50mm vs 28mm

shawrh

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi all,

I’m only recently getting back into the game after a long, long hiatus so please be gentle. I’m on a budget and I’m currently building my kit. I don’t want to spend a ton of money since I’m just starting out again and don’t see the need to buy top-of-the-line when I don’t really know how to use it. It seems like I would just be wasting that extra quality with my lack of knowledge. Although, with that said, I don’t want a piece of junk either.

Anyway, I currently have a Rebel xsi with an EF 28-135mm. It’s all well and good for now, but I want to add a prime lens for all the standard reasons. The EF 50mm f/1.8 II is obviously appealing to me for the price point and good reviews I’ve read. I know it’s cheaply made, but the reviews seem to say that it takes quality shots. For right now, I would sacrifice quality construction for a lens that would help me learn. However, given the 1.6 crop factor of the Rebel, should I instead go with the EF 28mm f/2.8? This is more money, but it would get me closer to a real 50mm, right?

What I just wrote may be completely wrong, so please fire away with your corrections. Is there another lens I should be considering? I just want something I can learn on that will give me decent shots. 50mm seems to be the focal length I want. If and when I get more comfortable with my work I can then upgrade.

Also, I was looking into flashes. I was looking at the Speedlite 430EX II. Thoughts? Any other suggestions? Should I hold off on the flash until get the other aspects of my shooting down?

Again, please correct anything I’m saying that’s wrong. General thoughts and suggestions for a beginner are also welcome. Thanks for your help!