First run with strobes, let me know what you think!

Carny

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I ended up getting 4 strobes this week. This is my first attempt at using them. I only used two for these, one mettle 600w with softbox in front camera right, and a mettle 400w with a snoot in the back camera left. Oh, and a speedlight mounted on the cam to trigger these, but I just pointed it away from the subject.

IMG_6001 by Carny Clickr, on Flickr

IMG_6001 - Copy by Carny Clickr, on Flickr

IMG_5991 by Carny Clickr, on Flickr

IMG_6012 by Carny Clickr, on Flickr

I did minimal adjustments to these, all in DPP. The pineapple is sooc. Interested to know what you think and how I could improve.

Bump, I'd really like some feedback on the lighting and how I could improve.

If you don't shoot these down I'm going to charge someone for them!

I would say the baby photo needed more light camera left. The deep shadows are to dramatic for a baby photo. Yhe dog and the pineapple need more light low on them.

Are you sure your lights are rated 600 w and 400 w? Strobes are usually rated in ws (watt seconds).

Oh, and I moved your thread out of the discussion forum where you started it, to a C&C gallery since you're wanting C&C.

The hard lighting on the baby makes him look like he is in his 30's lol...........needs fill light on the left side. I wouldn't go more than 2:1 on a baby to keep the softness.

#1 I agree with greybeard about the lighting. I'd be temted to clone out the teardrop on his cheek.
#2 Doesn't work for me.
#3 Needs light in back for more definition.
#4 Needs more fruit. It is, after all, just a fruit, not a work of art in and of itself.

agree with the lighting for the baby. but i love his expression. adorable!

I would say the baby photo needed more light camera left. The deep shadows are to dramatic for a baby photo. Yhe dog and the pineapple need more light low on them.