Flash questions??

KarenD

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Im a total beginner and I've recently bought a Canon 400D (Rebel xti) and Im hoping to buy a decent enough flash, only thing is I don't know where to start! what am I looking for in a flash and what flashes have you found worked well? should i stay with the canon brand or look elsewhere? Budget would be around MAX €200 (second hand obviously).
Any info will be greatly appreciated!

Welcome aboard.

I'd certainly recommend a flash that can tilt & swivel, as that will allow you to bounce the flash. It's hard to go wrong with a current Canon flash, so if you can find a 430EX (I or II), it would be a great match for your camera.

There are plenty of off-brand flash units that can save you money. Look for something that is 'dedicated' for Canon or says 'ETTL compatible for Canon). There are some cheap ones, so buyer beware.

i would check ebay and craigslist in your area. your best bet is a Canon flash if you can swing it.
a quick ebay search shows quite a few Canon 430 EX's in the $200 range.

I highly recommend that you go with at the very least what Mike recommended. I usually suggest at least one good, dedicated flash to match your camera brand. Mostly because it gets complicated when you discuss off brands. Metz and Sigma make some excellent off brands. Metz can run you as much as the canon brand, but they have a darned brilliant design and there are several here who swear by them.
THere are the YN (yongnuo) which are a cheap import that is incredible for the price. I am a fan of having some of them-but first and foremost that one good, dedicated flash.
Kathy posted the current rebates from Canon last night here. Search Canon Rebates and it should come up. The 430 EX II is right about your budget. Personally I'd squeeze or save to get to it if it's just over.