Focus Issue

chris16

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
OK... Please set aside EVERYTHING about this picture other than the focus problem I'm having. My issue is baby appears to be in focus and Mom is not. Yes I know baby is not tack sharp (the hair is) but not baby and Mom. Here are the settings I see.

I mostly have always done landscape photography and this is my first attempt at modeling.

Exposure 1/160 F1.8
FL 85mm
ISO 200
Lens 85mmf1.8
Nikon D700
Shot in basement studio with one strobe (I know the shot is a little hot) Just the focus issue please.

Question is why aren't both subject in focus?

If you don't have anything constructive to say please keep it to yourself. I know I have allot to learn and criticizing me wont help.

Attachments

• $_CGP1883.jpg
    $_CGP1883.jpg
    973 KB · Views: 126
It's because you're shooting at f/1.8. Use a (much) smaller aperture and you'll be able to get both in focus.

Reading another thread... was I too close to my subjects? Is my 85mm lens just too much for a studio setting? 10 -15 feet from subject? I'm so used to outdoors I'm not used to these issues. Thanks

Yep..the focus point is on the childs hair...everything closer and further is out of the DOF plane. If that 85 would have been on a DX sensor you'd have been further back and it would have given you a deeper DoF plane, but on that FX you were closer and thus making it thinner. I was actually surprised that it was a 85mm lens until I looked further down and saw the body.

Shooting this at say f/2.8 or so would give a much more usable DoF as well as getting you into the sharpness sweet-spot....Almost any lens is sharpest a few f-stops down from wide open.