Focus screen: yey or ney?

benlonghair

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Good monday morning all.

I was thinking about things I miss from when I learned to shoot with an old Minolta SRT201. First and formost is a fast prime (learned on a 35mm f/2.0) which will be my next lens purchase.

Second is a split prism focus aid. Apparently they're available for the D60 and not hard to get.

Are aftermarket ones worth getting? Are they something that a total noob wants to try to install or should I take it to a camera shop?

As a side note, I think I'm gonna go get some film (while it's still available) and a battery for the Minolta and have some fun with it.

I'm the same way, I have split focus screens in my 10D, my 300D before I destroyed it not so long ago and my Fuji S2.

I love them. I guess I fear change, its all I've ever used ha. Installing them though, I guess I would search for a tutorial or a repair manual or something and see how it is done.

I know squat about Nikons.

I haven't bought mine yet, but am planning to get a Katzeye screen some day soon. I really wished I had one during my recent Alaska trip. I just wish they did an angled screen.

Katz Eye™ Optics - Custom Focusing Screens

My local camera store will install it for about $25 and, although they're not supposed to be hard to put in, I think I'll let someone else muck around in there. They have good reviews.

Ian

That would be a very handy little unit to have, I will have to look into this at some point.

film....while its still available...what do you mean. I seriosly doubt there going to stop making it anytime soon.

so whats exactly the point of these?
my D90 seems to have one built in that i can turn on and off?

so whats exactly the point of these?
my D90 seems to have one built in that i can turn on and off?