Focusing in the dark...

TheGreatGonzo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I took the following shots at about 9:30 at night with very little ambient light. I could barely see what I was shooting at. Obviously I was using a very slow shutter speed and since I did not have a tripod, I was having to handhold the camera while bracing on a seawall rail. Because all I could see when shooting was a very dark outline, I was not able to focus much at all. Is there a solution to this? I considered shining a flashlight on the dock to light it up, then focusing, then extinguishing the light before opening the shutter. I'm very new at all this and would appreciate any advice on focusing in the dark.

standard.jpg

standard.jpg

standard.jpg

These were about the only real source of artificial light that was close by.
standard.jpg

standard.jpg

Thanks,
Gonzo

Auto focus needs contrast to work. No contrast, no auto focus. It's mentioned in the users manual, along with other situatiions where auto focus offers only limited perforamance.

So yes, shining a light on the dock might have created enough contrast the camera can auto focus.

Autofocus - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Auto focus needs contrast to work. No contrast, no auto focus. It's mentioned in the users manual, along with other situatiions where auto focus offers only limited perforamance.

So yes, shining a light on the dock might have created enough contrast the camera can auto focus.

Autofocus - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Keith,
I was using manual focus, not autofocus. I kind of figured autofocus would be pointless since there was no contrast, which is why I had the camera set to manual.
Thanks,
Gonzo

You didn't mention that in post #1, but using a flashlight would also help you to manually focus.