Focusing versus exposure

Rafa

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi experts, how are you? I hope taking so many pictures!

I would like to ask you about some technical adivice. I'm new on DSLR world but I'm studying it and trying as much as I can, the only mode I use is manual mode.

So, going direct to the point, the subject is exposure. Sometimes I notice that I should measure the exposure of my photo in one object which is not the subject of my picture. Lets say that I'm taking a portrait of a person which is in the left side of my pic but I would like to measure the exposure in another object which is on the right side of the picture, is it even possible or I'm talking bull****?

Sometimes when I am taking a picure the exposure looks over/under exposed, I'm trying to change the exposure mode and playing with matricial metering, spot metering and the other two my camera (Canon 6D) offers. I am getting good results after taking some pictures but I feel like there is the jump of the cat that I didn't get yet.

What advise would you give me regarding it?

Best regards,

Rafael (amateur photographer)

Another example, I focus on one object then I recompose the picture. The exposure was measured on the object I focused, right (considering spot metering)?

You might want to learn more about how to do "AE Lock" , using Aperture Priority automatic metering mode, or as Canon calls it Av mode".

Here is an article written by Canon itself. Canon DLC: Blog Post: AE Lock done right: AE Lock with Hold

Another issue: in MANUAL exposure mode, Matrix-type or multi-segment evaluative metering doesn't make as much sense as using a center-weighted metering approach. Matrix-type metering measures the whole, total frame...I think that's not the best way to use a Manual exposure mode for deliberate picture-taking. I think in Av or Tv or P mode, that Matrix-type metering makes more sense.