Food Photography Lighting

UpperSpoon

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi All,

Unfortunately, I get home after the sun has gone down, so my photography is done predominantly under artificial lighting.

I inherited one of these westcott Ulight Softbox kits with 2 leds:
Westcott uLite 2-Light Collapsible Softbox Kit with LED Bulbs - Two-light LED bundle with softboxes and stands.

And I have been experimenting and working with these over the past few weeks, however I really feel like I am not getting the light i need. I am fairly new to Photograohy so am unsure if its me or the lights.

I have a few hundred dollars I can put into additional lighting if need be, so any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Here are my more recent experiments with these lights:
Vegan Carrot Soup - Rich, Creamy, Full Flavored Soup, Full Of Goodness

I am shooting with a Nikon D750 and Nikkor 24 - 70mm f/2.8G ED

Sorry for the length of this post, I hope someone can get me all sorted out though :)

Your first purchase should be the lighting bible. After that, I would start investing in some inexpensive speedlights, stands and triggers. Continuous light really doesn't allow for the best results, and more lights are always better. That said, your work isn't bad; a lot better than much of what passes for food photography these days, and your presentation/styling is very good.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
I'm actually going to try the recipe.

Umm firstly WOW! Thank you so much everyone for your responses and help.

Tirediron, thank you very much for your kind words, I really appreciate that. I am definitely going to pick up that book, after just reading the summary, I feel I underestimated how important lighting actually is. As for the speed lights... I thought a flash was a big no no? did I miss something here?

AstroNikon, lol. It is soo good.