formal portrait help wanted

Desdemona

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi Everyone,

I'm looking for some help and advice as I've been asked to take formal portraits of parents and students at our school awards ceremony next week. (I'm one of the teachers.) People think I'm a decent photographer, which is why I've been asked, but I usually do candid shots or landscapes, and they usually only see my best shots!

We're going to do it as a sort of post-ceremony production line, where each family comes forwards, does their pose and goes. It's an important moment in the lives of the students, at their age, and I want to get it right. The trouble is, I'm never too good at those posed pictures. I'm not sure how to put people at their ease and stop them looking totally uncomfortable. I thought of taking a few on burst mode - is this a good idea?

I probably won't have much in the way of set up beyond a tripod, a camera and a blank wall. Is there anything I can do to make the light work better? (It will probably be dark outside, and I'll have overhead strip lights - not ideal, I know.) Or anything I should do with camera settings to make the light work for me? (I've got a Panasonic FZ7)

Many thanks one and all!

Here you go.
http://www.msnusers.com/Asktheoleproaboutphotography/joezeltsman.msnw

If you can do a custom white balance or you camera is good with auto WB you might look for some Halogen work lights. You surely know someone who has some and you can use white foam core for reflectors. What ever you do, don't use your on camera flash if you can help it.