From Constant Lighting to Strobes. (In Home Studio)

SoulEssenceCo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello! :)

I wouldn't consider myself a complete newbie to photography but there sure is a whole lot more I need to learn!
I've been a very successful photographer for about 5 1/2 years. Examples of my work: (Some old/ Some new)
[url]https://www.facebook.com/soulessence.photographyy/media_set?set=a.165819370205190.34315.100003313855778&type=3[/URL]

$Ann.jpg

I only have worked with constant westcott box lights. I have four of the regular sized ones & they're cool. They got me this far.
But I know that in order to be able to be more versatile, I must be willing to go further than constant lighting. So I went out and bought a Novatrons 1600 bundle of 4 lights.

I'm shooting in my home currently and my space isn't all that big. It's actually set up in my living room. :mrgreen:
Here are all my lights set up together so you can see what im working with.

$HS1.jpg$H3.jpg$H2.jpg$H4.jpg

Now I'm trying to figure out how to make use of them (this is my VERY first time using strobes)
it seems like the light is extremely bright when I snap. and the results are very boring. I don't get any pleasing results.
I know the umbrellas are supposed to create a soft image but they always look so strong and harsh.

I know I have a lot to learn but what are some things am I missing?
You see my space is pretty limited here, do I even need strobes of this magnitude?

Help!

oh & I know my backdrop is embarrassing... its on its last leg. :)

Could you post up a few pictures of the results that you aren't pleased with, and also the setup that you used to shoot those. (Specifically)

From what i can see, i notice that your softboxes are rather small.

Sure! Back in a few.