Full time staff photographer looking to start my own business

6Speed

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
If you were a seasoned photographer with plenty of technical and artistic skills, and you were starting with a blank slate for a photo business - what would you do?

I'm a full time photographer on staff with a large company. I create photos for their marketing and PR pieces, etc. Since I'm full time staff position I don't have to do billing, contracts, etc., charge for image usage, hourly rates, day rates, etc. This hasn't developed the side of me that needs to know how to run my own business...things like the taxes, managing a website, marketing myself, billing clients accurately, etc.

I may have to move in the next 2 years due to circumstances that have nothing to do with my job. Knowing this I would like to be prepared and have my own business up and going so that when that time comes I'm not running around like a headless chicken trying to figure out what to do.

Should I start by building a website? Hire a lawyer and accountant? Any advice is appreciated. :)

Build a site and see if you can actually get free lance jobs first. And you dont hire lawyers and accountants, You consult them. Next you need to read up on how to form a basic business plan. Its not hard but you need to sit down and figure out what exactly you are going to do as a photographer. Its a pretty broad market. .

A better idea would be to look for a job like you have now where you plan to move.

Build a site and see if you can actually get free lance jobs first. And you dont hire lawyers and accountants, You consult them. Next you need to read up on how to form a basic business plan. Its not hard but you need to sit down and figure out what exactly you are going to do as a photographer. Its a pretty broad market. .

A better idea would be to look for a job like you have now where you plan to move.