Fx help

thank you to everyone that actually answered my question about this, I'm not good with all these technical terms and names and numbers and stuff I finally watched a vidoe that totally helped to understand the problem and the issue that I was having, along with a user guide video. I guess I'm just gonna have to get an actual fx lens to see what the difference is.

You will be able to see what the difference is when there's a lens on the camera. The entire viewfinder will be what an FX lens will record. Shooting in DX mode, you'll only get what's inside the black rectangle.

This thread begs for the all to familiar reply to such situations, Have You Read The Freaking Manual???

Nikon manuals aren't exactly what I would call 'intuitive', especially for the novice. I liken it to explaining all the details of brain surgery for a group of 8-year-scouts for their First Aid patch.
I wonder if the Op asked the sales people at the store or did he just buy it online and try to muddle through himself.

You'll only have that issue if you shoot in DX mode.

FX bodies are shipped from the factory to default to DX mode when the camera detects a DX-format lens on it. When it is DX mode, you will see a small double-sided rectangle with 'DX' in it on the monitor and a black rectangle in the viewfinder.

You can over-ride this in the menus and shoot with it in FX mode.

BTW, the 35 DX lens does very well covering the FX sensor, so don't be afraid to shoot it in FX mode. It is a rarity as most DX lenses simply do not cover the FX sensor and you will have a black vignette in the corners of the image.
This thread begs for the all to familiar reply to such situations, Have You Read The Freaking Manual???