FX vs DX Format?

I have been shooting with my D90 for a couple of years now. Although it has served me well, it has some limitations, especially with the DX lenses that I am using. I am planning to upgrade when the newer Nikons arrive (either the upgraded D300 or the upgraded D700). I like to photograph landscapes and wildlife. The full-frame sensor would be nice for landscapes, and the low-noise / high-ISO of the full-frame sensor would be great for wildlife shots. But I get most of my shots on hikes where I am carrying camera equipment and tripod, and the FX bodies and their corresponding lenses are much heavier, especially added to the other gear that I carry. And the cost of the FX body and lenses is a major consideration. It is not out of range, but it's gonna hurt.

I would appreciate some input from anyone out there who shoots landscapes/wildlife to get your views. Thanks!

Brian

I shoot all sorts.
I own a D3s and also had owned a D300, and also a D700.
The D700 is somewhat heavier than the other plastic crop sensor bodies...
If i had to suggest anything, then my suggetyion will be to buy a D700 as it's a best weight vs iso you will get. Id the D700 isnt enough (iso wise) then yeah... prepare for a huge bill.
The lenses i would recommend you to get for landscape would be the nikon 16-35 f/4 VR.

walk around would be the nikon 24-70 bloody pricey though and heavy. I use that lens alot for event photography...

Other than the points that others have explained, I would say that if I am shooting portrait and landscape, I'd use FX. If I need to use telephoto or macro lens, DX gives me "more" magnification without using a bigger lens. Of course, that's if the sensor has high enough resolution.

Also, today's lens for FX are usually high end(expensive) lens. If you have a good collection of Nikkor lens, good for you!

FYI-Yall are probably to young to remember them but half frame 35mm were once produced. I think they were marketed double one's film budget.

Roger