Gear insurance, what do you do?

Ryan0751

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Now that I have a bunch of pro photo gear now (probably about $15k worth), I really want to make sure it's well protected.

I have a home inventory set up, and all of my photography gear (and other electronics) is all in there, with serial numbers, prices, receipts, and it's all backed up off-site.

I recently re-did my home owners insurance, and I put together a personal property price that reflected my home inventory, and I also did purchase replacement cost coverage.

Now, I'm not a professional photographer. When I asked my agent about riders for the gear, he asked if I was a professional photographer, and I said it was as a hobby. I was then told it would be covered under the normal personal property coverage.

I'm not quite convinced this is enough. As I use this gear mostly outside of the house, I'd like some coverage if something is broken or stolen. I also understand that when you make a claim against your home owners policy, you are basically screwed. If they pay out for a claim, you usually wind up with a cancelled policy shortly thereafter followed by much higher premiums for the foreseeable future.

What do the rest of you do? Do you get third party coverage?

Depending on your insurance provider, you may be able to get a "business personal property floater" attached to your renter's/homeowners insurance.

If not, there are several companies that specialize in photographer's liability and gear insurance. Just Google it.

Most homeowners insurance policies have specific limitations on how much value of a given commodity will be covered. In my area, $10K is a common upper limit and additional coverage can be as high as $10 per $100 of value! Definitely look into business insurance as it may well be cheaper in the long run.

One claim against your home policy isn't a big deal. 2 within a 5-year span and you're crispy fried chicken.