Gelled flash Outdoors?

Trever1t

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Website
wsgphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have never used a gel on my OCF before and was wondering if using one on a overcast or partly sunny day would benefit me? I was thinking of amber .7 -ev? I am shooting portrait in a park setting today. I have a load of gels of varying yellow-orange colors but little understanding of what will give me a natural look with OCF flash fill in that setting.

I'm all ears!

I often used a full CTO gel on the light with the camera WB set to tungsten. That makes the light on the subject white, and gives the background a cooler bluish cast.

hmm, I want to keep the light (fill) on the subject warm and keep the ambient warm as well. Will gelling the flash with amber achieve that result?

I use gel to try to balance the colors of the light sources, so it's easier to adjust the white balance after. So if you're shooting at sun set, then use a yellow gel to match the lights and adjust it later.

Using a CTO gel should keep the lighting hitting your subject warm.

With the SB-700 I've found that because it transmits the gel info to the camera, I sometimes get warm subject but then cool background/shadows. To get around this I've just set the white balance via a grey card with just ambient, then used the flash over that custom white balance.

I'll be using it off camera and in Manual, only triggered by my camera.

Overcast days are pretty cool in color.. partial sun also, but not as much. If you want warm light in the photo (subject and surroundings), you want to gel your OCF cooler, and then also set your white balance cool (in camera or post, like 6000-7000K). You'd gel the flash warm if you wanted the subject warmer than the surroundings.

hmm, I want to keep the light (fill) on the subject warm and keep the ambient warm as well. Will gelling the flash with amber achieve that result?