Getting back into photography.

Kpablo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello, I’m Katie from the DFW area in Texas. I have always enjoyed the art of photography, whether from others or pictures that I have taken. With that being said, I’m a complete amateur with a point and shoot Casio camera.

In college I took a photography class, bought a film SLR, don’t ask what brand or model I have know idea. I bought it in 2006 for 500 dollars. I took the class and in the middle of the semester dropped it. Let’s just say young and dumb. Now, I want to get back into it.

There is a local photography club I’m going to go to on Monday. I’m very excited and a bit antsy, I want to go out and buy a camera, RIGHT NOW! I know it’s best not to, I really need to do my research. I went to Wolf Camera to compare a few brands and models. I’ve narrowed it down to three, I like all of them equally and at this point it’s a matter of personal decision, I guess. I’ve boiled it down to a Rebel XSi because of the megapixels, the D3000, although I really could care less about the guide, and the D60, I like the price of the D60. Someone told me to get the D5000, but honestly I’d like to wait to make sure I’m going to stick with photography before putting down that kind of money.
What am I planning on doing?

I train my Doberman in the sport of Agility. I go to competitions with lightening fast dogs that compete indoors with very awful low lighting. I also go to conformation shows that is a little slower paced but equally craptastic lighting.

My dog and I are really getting into the hiking hobby. We are always outside and I take pictures of nature with my point and shoot.

Anywho, I've read a little bit on the forum already and hope to learn more and see people's photographic art.

Welcome to the community.