Getting into portrait photography, help!

Campbell

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey everyone. I'm looking into straying away from photographing my routine nature scenes so that I can get a little into doing portraits with some of my female friends. Unfortunately, I am not only new to photography in general, but I have no experience with doing 1 on 1 photo shoots. I've done some research online, but I would appreciate it if I could get some tips from my peers about important things to keep in mind, do's and don'ts, etc. Any and all input is appreciated.

Thanks,
Campbell

When shooting nature & landscapes...you are almost always working with the light that nature provides...and if you are smart, you take the photos at the time of day when the light is best.

When you are shooting a person, you have the opportunity to create your own light or at least taking your client to a place where the light is favorable.
Photography is, after all, all about light.

As for tips, I think it would help if you are more specific in your questioning. There are millions of way to shoot people...it just depends on what you, the photographer, wants to do. So if you can tell us what you want to do, then we may be more able to give advice toward that.

A really nice way to do it, as well as helping out your community and causes are to offer portraits as part of an auction for a charity, or to do them free for our service men and women. Give them a free print and sitting, and if you make reprint $, that is great too.
Good luck and have fun.

When shooting nature & landscapes...you are almost always working with the light that nature provides...and if you are smart, you take the photos at the time of day when the light is best.

When you are shooting a person, you have the opportunity to create your own light or at least taking your client to a place where the light is favorable.
Photography is, after all, all about light.