Glare question

rianbechtold

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello, I'm new to photography. I got my girlfriend a t1i for christmas and never thought I would get so into it and have so much fun! My pictures are really bad, but it's still alot of fun to me!

Most of my pictures have been of nature and on sunny days. I have ran into a problem with glare and have searched around for some help. The glare I'm getting is "in the lens" almost. Everywhere I look online describes glare from bodies of water, glare from reflective surfaces like glasses etc... I am getting hexagonal glare spots in the middle of some of my photos:(

Here is a pic I took that shows what I mean(sorry for the size):
sr_bench.jpg

Is there anything I can do to eliminate this? I usually shoot with a polarizer on if there is a lot of color (like this pic) but I get the glare with or without it on.

Would one of those flower shaped hoods help? Or do I just need to start facing the other way when shooting:D

Thanks!

Is there anything I can do to eliminate this? ...

Yes, use a lens hood specific to the lens. Also, remove any and all filters.

If you are using a zoom lens at one of its middle or longer settings, particularly one with a wide zoom range, you may need to use a hood other than the manufactures "recommended" hood. You need one that almost vignettes so that it blocks the bright light just out of the picture. Sometimes, though, the source of the bright light that causes these internal reflections is in the picture. In such cases a hood won't help, but removing any filter might.

The hood manufacturers sell for zooms is made to be effective at the wide end of the zoom range. This is because one made to be effective in the middle or long end of the range would vignette at the wide end.