cupcake09

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Equipment:
flashpoint 300 w strobes x2
Sony A230

I'm new to artificial lighting. Having used natural light I assumed it was normal to shoot at 1/100 and 400 ISO.

However, people on this site and others have said my photos only look like they're being lit by the on camera flash. I suspect this has always been the case.

I know they are working properly as I "see" them and hear the beep. I don't have any preflash on, Sony doesn't take the cord that came with the lights.

I am upset and frustrated to say the least. What are my other options (wireless or wired okay) to trigger and hopefully have them show up in my pictures.

Thanks for reading! :)

Typical studio settings are more like 1/200, f8, ISO 100. Any radio trigger (Yongnuo, Cactus, Pocket Wizard) should be fine, but you will need the Sony-specific model or a Sony-rest of the world hotshoe adapter. I assume you're using your pop-up flash to trigger the Flashpoints? If so, and it's out of sync, then double-check your pop-up flash settings, as 99.9999% of the time this happens, it's a result of TTL pre-flash.

Thanks TiredIron the settings are very helpful. I can only go up to 1/160 when using the pop up flash however.
Looking into those brands now thank you!!

One of the best-made options is the Nikon AS-15, the "Accessory Shoe", model 15. It's like $19. Mine is 15 years old, works great. It slides into any standard hotshoe...oh WAIT....SOny has that nifty proprietary hotshoe...

One of these, or better, will allow the use of the PC cord from the adapter, to one of the lights; turn the optical slave trigger on the second monolight to ON, and you're good to go with a simple "wired" triggering system.

HD N3 Flash Hotshoe Adapter for Sony Alpha A200 A230 A900 Minolta Dynax 7D 5D A2 | eBay

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Equipment:
flashpoint 300 w strobes x2
Sony A230