Going 'Retro' with film?

colintinto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi All,

I've been playing with my Canon 300D for a few months now, having moved on from an old Canon Powershot, and an older Olympus digital before that, so I've been digital for 5 years.

I've recently inherited a Minolta 7000 and various lenses from my Grandfather. My first idea was to sell all the kit on eBay and use the money to buy something new for my Canon, but firstly there is a bit of sentimental value there, and secondly it looks like I'd be lucky get much more than £100 for the lot, so I don't think it's worth the effort.

And now that I understand SLRs a bit better, I've started to think that maybe I should get some film and play with the Minolta! Maybe some slide film, or B&W, just something different.

Has anyone gone this route? And how hard is it, going from the instant gratification of histograms, previews, and on screen in minutes, to having to finish the roll, send it off for processing, and then finding out you've over/underexposed them all???

Colin

We have a member here, ksmattfish, who started out in photography shooting digital. Somehow he transitioned over to film and ended up being quite the film geek, right down to using classic cameras from the 1950's (Rolleiflex and the like) and moving to large format.

Point is, it's not at all unheard of, and if you're the type who wants to really delve into photography, wants to look into the guts of a camera, maybe even learn B&W film processing and print developing - it's actually a natural progression.