Going to start using watermarks! Very upset and disturbed.

Status
Not open for further replies.

clbryant19811

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So last night I'm browsing around looking at different photography stuff when I stumble across a picture on a prominent photography website that looked all too familiar. It was one that I took and posted in a different forum a couple years ago. And to make it worse, was of one of my kids!!! I have never used a watermark because I'm just a hobbyist, but now will. Also I sent a notice to 500px that the picture was mine and not the other parties work as they claimed. They were quick and efficient, the person is no longer a registered user and picture is down.

Wow, what can awful experience that must have been.

Adding a watermark isn't going to stop image theft.

If you don't want your work stolen, don't post it online.

So last night I'm browsing around looking at different photography stuff when I stumble across a picture on a prominent photography website that looked all too familiar. It was one that I took and posted in a different forum a couple years ago. And to make it worse, was of one of my kids!!! I have never used a watermark because I'm just a hobbyist, but now will. Also I sent a notice to 500px that the picture was mine and not the other parties work as they claimed. They were quick and efficient, the person is no longer a registered user and picture is down.
Glad to see that 500px acted efficiently!

Yep. The only sure way to prevent the theft of online images is to not put images online.
A watermark can be cloned out or cropped away if it's along an edge.

If you decide to put photos online anyway it takes more than just a watermark.
Five Things You Can Do to Protect Your Online Images |

As upsetting as getting ripped off is, (as it was a photo of your kid really makes it personal), it is also a compliment and attests to you abilities as a photographer.