Good cheap flash? SB-28?

Antithesis

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.epanderson.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm using a d40x and I want to get a decent flash with off-camera capabilities and some other perks. I'm a poor college student, so $ is a pretty enormous issue. I was looking on ebay and a few other places, and it looks like I can get a nikon sb-28 for under $100, plus there are the sigma flashes and the sunpak ones. I was just curious what peoples impression of the sb-28 and other less expensive flashes, and if I'm going to see any severe limitations versus the sb-600.

I was trying to decide between a new lens and a flash, and it seems like a flash will give me more options for my pictures. Plus, my friend is taking me on as a sort of apprentice in wedding photography and I'd like to really get to know what I can do with a flash before I make myself look like a jerk on one of my first shoots. And no, I won't be using my d40x at weddings, lol.

I have 2 sb-28s that I bought on ebay. One has hot shoe issues but works via sync great. The other works perfectly. I love them.

They will work just fine, but you do give up the ability to use TTL metering. The DB28 with the D40 will only work using Auto flash, an SB28DX may give you TTL. It will give very good results, but won't offer some of the advanced metering functionality. I use one on my D100 to control a couple of other slaves.

I am selling a Nikon Refurb SB600 for $150 if that is cheap enough for you to step up to the 600.

Sorry, iTTL only works with the Sb 400/600/800s (I think that you already knew that but just in case ;)).

The Sb 28 is a fine flash (same guide number as the Sb800) and, as stated will work in auto on your camera. This is the same as the after market flashes' TTL for the most part. This flash -'Strobist' style - will be about as good as it gets unless you get a Metz. The Metz will cost more most likely -look at the 45 CL 4.