Got my Macro Lens, now what?!?!

smackitsakic

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am extremely excited about my new Sigma 50mm F2.8 DG Macro lens arriving today. Out of the box and onto the camera, I quickly found myself eager to start shooting. The lens is used and didn't come with a user guide, though it seems fairly straight forward.

What are some tips and hints to shooting good quality macro shots?

I quickly understood the simplicity of shooting in direct sunlight with a faster shutter speed. I also see the need for a small tri-pod for the shots on the ground (insects, flowers, etc.)

For a complete beginner to macro photography, what can you share with me to make me better at perfecting this delicate craft?

congratz on ur new macro lens. My canon 100mm macro lens is def my faovrite lenS!!!! macro photography is awesome! you really get to view a new perspective that people aren't use to cing..I would highly suggest you get a cable release cord so you don't get any camera shake. and of course a descent tripod.

good luck on ur new lens!

post pics when you get a chance. I love to c em!

Congrats on the lens! I miss having a macro in my setup but that wasnt my choice to see it go.

A nice tripod and patience goes along way. Ive never used a cable release when shooting macro but it would have been nice on more than one occasion

also make sure you post up some pictures!

What are some tips and hints to shooting good quality macro shots?
One tip that should help a lot:

Macro lenses don't usually have the best AF - and due to the nature of shooting macro, AF isn't always that useful anyway...

One thing a lot of people do is switch it to manual focus and focus by moving the camera. They make focusing rails for just that, if you need a high level of precision...
focusing rails

If you're shooting hand-held, you can just rock on your feet a little. Just move back and forth a little till the sharpest focus is where you want it.