Greetings from Canada

leprechaun

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

Just wanted to say hideeho from Montreal and introduce myself.

I'm rather young, i'll be 21 in 4 days. I've been doing photography with lack of seriousness for a couple years. It all started with a daycamp that had a course. A course for ten year olds isn't very advanced of course, but it got me outside taking pictures and some hands on in the lab. I remember my pictures being really good. Unfortunatly, my mother got reprints of the final product this christmas, and that kind of burst my bubble! Most of them were out of focus. Oh well.

Anyway, being a geek, i got a digital camera 3 years ago. A lower megapixel, but good Camera. Olumpus C2100UZ I've taken quite alot of shots with it, and was quite satisfied, although the size prevented me from taking too many "on the spot" souvenir pictures.

The only thing that camera lacked was manual controls. IT did have them, but being in menus on screen makes them inaccessible and in turn makes me rely on auto. Thus, i did develop "the eye" i guess, but non of the skill.

As if i hadn't learned from my mistakes, I recently got an even bigger camera! A Nikon D70! I haven't taken any pictures on auto, and am quite satisfied, although i still dont know it very well, i'm working on it.

I joined this forum mainly to get feedback on what I do and i'm looking forward to getting bashed! :p

ON another note, am i the only one who thinks winter sucks? I mean, i haven't taken any outdoor pictures that are worth keeping. For some reason, everything looks grey and lifeless. With a darker clouded sky, the grey pavement, covered with brown slew, the cars colors being dulled by this same brown slew, no green leaves. I dunno, i just can't wait till summer to take a good shot. Please help!

Anyway, that was a portion of me in 400 words.

Cheers, Lawrence