Had a lightbulb moment today...

snappin

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Or I guess it could also be considered a "duh" moment. I thought I would share my realization(s) for all my other fellow newbies.

Let me start with a little story time. Now that the weather has been nicer the last couple days I have taken a couple of walks around the city with no other purpose but to take some good pictures/practice (until now I had only used my camera at social functions where I didnt really have the time to play with much).

After downloading my last set of pictures and inspecting them I got very frustrated with my/the camera's metering (probably my fault). I had a LOT of pictures with blown skies/highlights. So today I started playing around with the exposure lock (* button on my Rebel XT) whilst shooting in P or Av. I have never had the guts to go to straight Manual mode for fear I didn't have the know how to know where to start with my exposure (I bet you are seeing the DUH moment now).

Well obviously the problem with using the exposure lock is that when reframing/focusing its easy to lose the lock since it only seems to last for a couple seconds. Finally after getting more frustrated with that I decided to give the all powerful "M" mode a try. After all I was getting frustrated with the scenery lacking anything I wanted to take a picture of I figured I might as well experiment. Then came the big DUH :confused: When I pressed the shutter halfway that exposure adjusting bar told me where I was in terms of the cameras metering!!!! Now its all clear how all you awesome photogs are able to not sit there trying to figure out what shutter speed you need etc (or have some crazy eye for light). Haha.