Hawaii first time / lenses?

bhop

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi dudes. I'm going to Hawaii for the first time. (big island and oahu) It's not really a "photo trip", i'm visiting a friend that lives there, but I will be taking lots of photos since it's my first time.

Normally, when I go on touristy trips, I'd take my Leica M6 or M2, with 28/35/50mm lenses, but this time I've decided (I think...) to take my D3s and shoot all digital so I don't have to carry film around and don't have to worry too much about low-light (I want to go inside some ships at pearl harbor).

I usually shoot primes, 28 and 50mm, unless i'm shooting auto racing or "wildlife" (the zoo..lol) in which i'll take my 300mm and/or 70-200, but i'm trying to decide if I want to take my 70-200mm (I have a teleconverter too) to Hawaii as well.

I didn't want to travel too "heavy" since there will be lots of walking around, and the D3s isn't a lightweight body as it is, which is why i'm on the fence about the big zoom, so I figured maybe someone that's been could share their thoughts.

edit: I should add that my photo "style" is probably more snapshot-y/street.. usually

I'm also still thinking about taking one of the Ms and some film.. so hard to decide.. :(

Last edited:
When we went to Maui this summer, I took my kit with me.
For above water shots I used my 70-200mm and my 85mm the most.

We have been to the Big Island several times also. It really depends on what your focus is (no pun intended). For ships and architecture I used my 11-16mm a lot when I was shooting DX. I also shot a lot with my 18-105mm. On the other hand there is plenty I found to shoot with my then 70-300mm.