Haze in Pictures

EnchantedMemories

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
$IMG_4398.jpg$IMG_4447.jpgOkay.. So, I am fairly new to the photography world. I have only had my camera for a little over a year, and I just shot my first wedding this past weekend. When I imported all of my pictures into lightroom, I noticed that all of the ones that were taken at the beach have this haze/glow on them. It helps for me to up my contrast, but doesnt completely fix it. I also tried the auto contrast in Photoshop cs5, but it was too much and the glow is still there. Any help to remove this would be greatly appreciated. I am totally freaking out.

Last edited:
can you post an example? It is most likely due to the lighting, some people (me included) love hazy photos!

Post examples please unless you want us to take wild guesses.

Just a wild guess, using a lens filter without hood in a Sunny day?

I love the hazy look to... just not on all of them. any help would be great. :)

It looks from both of those photos that the sun was at an oblique angle to the front element so you may have some flare issues, always use a lens shade.

Also, from someone who lives a scant 15 minutes from the Gulf of Mexico and does a lot of model swimsuit photography at the beach, check the front element of your lens for a very thin film from the salt in the air. I always shoot with a UV on the front of my lenses at the beach, not only to protect the front element from blowng sand but also from getting coated with that salt film. If you just breathe on the lens and try to wipe it off, you will just make it worse, take lens cleaner with you!