HDR Night Photos

Sleepy_Sentry

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.esgameservers.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to photography and would like some feedback on some night photographs I took. Using Photomatix and my Canon Powershot S3 IS I created the following HDR images. The ones I like best are shown first.

1.An old power plant. I think I could have made it a bit brighter.

1941843118_779527d8a8.jpg

2. I don't know what this thing is called.

1941020673_b7780c68d3.jpg

3. Oncoming traffic. I used a long shutter speed but didn't have a tripod.
1941019263_deb5fbafd9.jpg

4. Sky over football stadium.

1941012905_18f41be99f.jpg

5. More traffic.
1941847732_5e6662d85d.jpg

6. This photo would be great if it didn't have the grain and blur.
1941857100_ce88fd0d69.jpg

Any and all feedback is strongly appreciated.

I'm confused. It's not really possible to make HDR images with moving subjects. I'm also a little confused as to how you even got multiple exposures of these...perhaps HDR highlights, but reciprocity failure would prevent HDR from enhancing shadow detail at night.

I'm confused. It's not really possible to make HDR images with moving subjects. I'm also a little confused as to how you even got multiple exposures of these...perhaps HDR highlights, but reciprocity failure would prevent HDR from enhancing shadow detail at night.

A lot of people make HDRs by creating two copies of one original image, and using RAW editing software to amp up the exposure on one and turn it way down on the other. BAM! Three pictures of the same thing (in motion or otherwise), all at different exposures.

I guess you're right in that the images aren't "true HDR". Photomatix allows you to make HDRs with a single JPEG image file. Once I get a tripod, I plan to make HDRs the right way by taking several photos.

And as Polymath said, you can also change the exposure and make an HDR file with three pictures out of one.