Headshot tips, anyone?

niccig

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.niccigilland.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So, this weekend I have my first opportunity to do headshots/model portfolio shots. This is my first time doing any modeling photography, and my first time working with anyone outside my family, so I'm not charging (it's just for the experience, and to build MY portfolio). Does anyone have some great tips for me? Such as, is there any gear I absolutely can't be without, and is there anything specific I should know about modeling work in particular? I'm really excited about this!

My gear:
Nikon D80 (I plan to use this one)
Nikon F80 (backup)
Nikkor 18 2.8D (probably won't use this, but it's available)
Nikkor 50 1.8D (plan on using this one mainly)
Nikkor 35-70 4-5.6D
Sigma 100-300 4.5-6.7 (can't see myself using this one a lot on this shoot)
SB-800
I also plan on purchasing an umbrella & stand beforehand
Back drop is usually attached to my wall in my "home studio" (spare bedroom)

So I assume you are going to use your flash (SB800) as your main light?...and you want to put it on a stand with an umbrella, that's good. But how are you going to fire the flash? And how will you meter for it?

Then you have to consider the fill light. It could be a simple as just a white board (try foam core from a craft store).

I also plan on purchasing an umbrella & stand beforehand
If you purchase anything to use on a 'job'...it's important that you practice and/or know how to use it before you get there. It won't look very professional if you are trying to figure it out while your model is waiting.

For head shots, fill the frame and eliminate any distracting backgrounds. The 50mm lens should be OK...but you might consider using a longer focal length because it will probably be more flattering to your models.