Hello, I need some advice in the photography world

charlieclimber

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, I'm Charlie and I am new to this forum and I am an amateur photographer. I currently own a high-end point and shoot camera buy I'm in the market for an entry level dSLR. Most of my photographs are of urban exploration (outdoor) and mountain landscapes. I am considering buying an EOS Rebel T3i. Any suggestions on if that camera is a good investment? I am also wondering what lenses I should buy (an entry-level zoom lens would be preferred).
Thanks,
Charlie

Welcome to the site. i am new here as well. Got a EOS 650D and i absolutely love it.

It's a great camera. The lenses you invest in will mean more than the body does. The kit lens is a very good little lens for an entry level lens. What is the budget you want to spend on an additional lens?

I agree that the Canon Rebel series of cameras are really great. Like, MLeeK stated your budget will guide your purchuse on lenses, but I would just use your kit lens for a while until you find out what you really want. It might change by then, or you could always do the 55-250 which is fairly inexpensive.

:thumbup: Welcome to TPF Charlie! :camera:

I'm moving this for you to a forum that should get you more info regarding the Canon T3i.

FWIW. Here in the US it's a Canon EOS Rebel T3i. In Japan it's a Canon EOS Kiss X5. In the rest of the world it's a Canon EOS 600D.

i am new here also, i dont know that much about wide angle lenses, not sure what a good mm range would be ...

Hey there!